Toronto Screeners

The Checkpoint (Volume 1, Issue 12).

Cost Of Mismanagement! The membership of IAMAW local lodge 2921 are expressing deep concern about the way in which the employer has conducted recent business relations in regards to their overall welfare, safety and livelihood. The membership has become increasingly distraught especially in light of the recent layoffs and the manner in which it was done. With a recent report on the rise of disinformation being verbally disseminated especially by members of management in regards to additional layoffs, closure of

Read more

Overwhelming Support for New Contract at Thorncliffe Place Retirement Home

Nepean, ON – IAM Local 1295 working for Thorncliffe Place Retirement Home voted overwhelming to accept a new multi-year deal. The ratification vote was held late last week. “This contract has many language improvements that better fits members’ needs such as shift bidding, layoff and recall language and recall rights,” said Jim Snider, Business Representative for IAM District 78. “The Bargaining Committee worked through the pandemic and put forward a contract proposal the members could get behind.” Highlights of the

Read more

Letter to Ministers Freeland and Garneau: Re-Nationalization of Canada’s Airlines – the Time is Now!

Re-Nationalization of Canada’s Airlines – the Time is Now! The Honourable Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Finance/Deputy Prime MinisterThe Honourable Marc Garneau, Minister of TransportHouse of CommonsOttawa, Ontario K1A 0A6 Email: Chrystia.Freeland@parl.gc.caEmail: Dear Ministers Freeland and Garneau: Subject: Re-Nationalization of Canada’s Airlines – the Time is Now! We have all watched with horror as the Covid Pandemic has impacted friends and families across Canada. It is a health crisis of great enormity, and all Canadians share in our common interest to find

Read more

Situation Critical – IAM Sounding Alarm on Air Transportation

Toronto, ON – Yesterday, WestJet announced an 80% reduction in flights to Atlantic Canada and Quebec City due to the ongoing pandemic. With these cuts to service, combined with layoffs in the airline and aerospace sectors, as well as the onset of a “Second wave” of the COVID-19 pandemic, the forecast is dire. “The industry is in peril. The IAM is again calling on the federal government to intervene as these cuts will be commonplace if the government doesn’t provide support to

Read more

IAM Local 901 negotiates and ratifies new contract despite pandemic.

IAM Local 901 members at HMFT (Howard Marten Fluid Technologies, formerly Howard Marten Company Limited) ratified a collective agreement this past Friday. In addition to wage increases, the members we united in ensuring all technicians were aligned into the same classification. Furthermore, the members will receive an increased boot allowance, shift premiums, and enhanced severance benefits in the Collective Agreement. “Time and time again, our members have shown us they want to see their members are taken care of –

Read more
1 2 3 104